DOM Injection for Android

Enterprise Browser 4.0

Overview

Apps running on Enterprise Browser 1.3 and higher support DOM injection, which inserts CSS, JavaScript and/or meta tags into a running app without modifying the underlying app. This permits features, capabilities and even the look and feel of part or all of any app to be modified or customized at runtime without changing the original source code.

This can be useful, for example, to inject EB JavaScript libraries or other business logic into an SAP ITSmobile or other app for which there's no way to edit the source. DOM injection occurs after the page is completely loaded, ensuring that page modifications are applied only after the DOM is ready for them.

Enabled by default, DOM injection is activated by the <CustomDOMElements> tag of the app's Config.xml file. No special licensing is required.

NOTE: Enterprise Browser 2.6 and later supports Enterprise Application Configurator, an EB companion utility that simplifies DOM injection implementation.

Requirements

To use DOM injection, ALL of the following must be true:

  • The app being injected is running on Enterprise Browser 1.3 (or higher).
  • A tags file containing elements to be injected has been created and pushed to the target device.
  • The path to the tags file is specified in the app's Config.xml file (see Step 2).
  • The target device is running Android with the stock webkit.

Supports injection of:

  • JavaScript or CSS files stored locally on the device
  • JavaScript or CSS files stored on a server
  • Meta tags described in the tags file (stored on the device)
  • Local files specified using absolute paths or EB substitution variables (i.e. %INSTALLDIR%)

Supported injection conditions:

  • Injects into all navigated pages (using wildcard character)
  • Injects into all pages that contain a unique string or HTML element (using pagecontent attribute)
  • Injects only into specified pages (by URL; server-based pages only)

Zebra recommends using substitution variables (and avoiding absolute paths) whenever possible.

Step 1 - Prepare 'Tags' File

The "tags" file is the list of elements (i.e. JavaScript, CSS and/or meta tags) to be injected into the DOM and the pages to receive the injections. Formatting syntax is similar to that of ordinary HTML tags for including scripts, style sheets and meta data. The specific tagging syntax for DOM injection is explained in the Tagging Guidelines section below. The file can be saved using any name (i.e. mytags.txt).

To create a tags file:

  1. Create a text file to contain the desired DOM-injection elements.
  2. Copy code lines from the samples below or in the Example section, paste them into the new document and modify their contents to match the app's requirement(s).
  3. Push the file to the device; make note of the path and file name.
  4. Proceed to Step 2: update the Config.xml file.

The following rules apply:

  • All tags in the tags file must contain the injection-specific "pages" attribute.
  • Use of the wildcard (*) character causes injection into all navigated pages.
  • If using server-based JavaScript, see JavaScript injection section (below) for dependency cautions.
  • An optional 'pagecontent' attribute can be used to add a page-specific string for triggering injection (EB 2.0 and higher only).
  • Attribute values must not be left blank.
  • All tags must have beginning (<) and ending (/>) angle brackets.
  • Each tag in the tags file must be on a separate line.
  • Local pages support only the pages='*’ syntax. To inject tags into a specific local page, use pages='*' in combination with the pagecontent attribute.

Step 2- Update Config.xml

Before proceeding, the tags file created in Step 1 must reside on the device and its path and file name must be known.

By default, the <CustomDOMElements> tag in the app's Config.xml file contains no value. DOM injection cannot function unless a path to the tags file on the device is specified.

  • Specify the path to the tags file by adding a line (similar to the one below) in the <Application> section in the app's Config.xml file: 

    
<Application>
...
    <CustomDOMElements value="file://%INSTALLDIR%/mytags.txt"/>
...
</Application>

For information about how to configure the Config.xml file, see the Config.xml Reference Guide.

Note: The <CustomDOMElements> tag cannot be configured using the On-device Config Editor utility.

Tagging Guidelines

'Pages' tag

The pages tag is used to specify the page(s) into which DOM elements are injected. This tag supports specification of an app's individual HTML pages ("startPage.html," "scanPage.html" etc.), server-based application pages (specified as individual or relative URLs) and the wildcard character (*), which injects the specified elements into all navigated pages of the app.

Inject a JavaScript file into all pages from "installed" directory (substitution variable):

<script type='text/javascript' src='file://%INSTALLDIR%/enroll.js' pages='*' />
Inject a CSS file into all pages using absolute path:
<link rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' href='file:///storage/emulated/0/Android/data/com.zebra.mdna.enterprisebrowser/mystyle.css'  pages='*' />
Inject a JavaScript file into one server page using relative reference (server-based pages only):

<script type='text/javascript' src='file://%INSTALLDIR%/enroll.js' pages='/mypages/page2.html; /mypages/page5.html' />

On server-based apps, DOM injection references are relative to the startPage URL.
For example, "http://myserver.com/mypages/startPage.html" could be the full URL for the example above.

See more code examples.

'Pagecontent' tag

Supported in Enterprise Browser 2.0 (and higher) only.

The pagecontent tag is used for DOM injection into navigated pages only when a specific string or HTML element is present on the page. This allows the developer to set specific conditions under which an action is executed, for example to run a login script only on pages that contain a login prompt.

Attributes of DOM injection tags:

Note that the "pages" attribute specifies the file name of the page into which the element defined in the tag is injected.

Inject enroll.js file from the "install" directory if the string "Change Password" is found on any page:

<script type='text/javascript' src='file://%INSTALLDIR%/enroll.js' pagecontent='Change Password' pages='*' />


An app login page that contains 'Change Password' text.

If injection is desired on a page that displays no visible text, it's possible to identify a unique 'pagecontent' element by using the inspection tool available on most standard browsers (i.e. Chrome or Firefox). The image below uses Chrome's "elements view" to show the HTML code behind a hidden login prompt from an SAP web app:


Once identified, copy the "outerXML" of the element and paste it into the 'pagecontent' tag to allow the EB app identify the desired element for injection: 

<script type='text/javascript' src='file://%INSTALLDIR%/previous.js' pagecontent='<input type="hidden" name="sap-system-login-oninputprocessing" value="onProceed">' pages='*' />

Notes:

  • When specifying lengthy HTML elements, avoid syntax errors by carefully checking usage of spaces and single- and double-quotation marks (as in sample above).
  • Multi-line values are not supported.
When all tags are completed, store the tags file on the device and take note of the file name and path.

This tag must contain a fully qualified path to the device-resident "tags" file, which is required for DOM injection. The tags file defines the DOM element(s) to be injected and the names or identifying contents of the page(s) to receive injections whenever they're displayed.

See more code examples.

JavaScript Injection Examples

JavaScript can be injected either through file protocol or by using an absolute path, substitution variable, or server path relative to the EB app's start page. Different rules apply to injection of local and server-based JavaScript, and might affect the app if dependencies exist between the JavaScript modules in use.

Zebra recommends using substitution variables (and avoiding absolute paths) whenever possible.

Inject JavaScript Using Substitution Variables

The examples below inject JavaScript into all files in the directories indicated.

Inject JavaScript into all files in the Enterprise Browser default installation directory: 


<script type='text/javascript' src='file://%INSTALLDIR%/enroll.js' pages='*' />

Inject JavaScript into all files in the Enterprise Browser persistence directory (i.e. /enterprise directory): 


<script type='text/javascript' src='file://%PERSISTCONFDIR%/enroll2.js' pages='*' />

Inject Local JavaScript

When using the file protocol, the JavaScript file(s) must be resident on the target device and have path(s) specified in the src attribute of the script tag using the file:// designation. For example, the following lines inject JavaScript files into all pages of the app-relative directory:


<script type='text/javascript' src='file:///storage/emulated/0/Android/data/com.zebra.mdna.enterprisebrowser/jquery.js' pages='*'/>

<script type='text/javascript' src='file:///storage/emulated/0/Android/data/com.zebra.mdna.enterprisebrowser/mytest.js' pages='*'/>

Notes

  • Local JavaScript files are injected consecutively in the order they appear in the tags file.
  • Each JavaScript file is loaded completely before the next file begins to load.
  • DOM injections occur every time a page is loaded, so changes to JavaScript files injected in this way can be put into effect simply by refreshing the relevant page.

Inject Server-based JavaScript

Here, four JavaScript files are injected from a server into all pages: 

    
    <script type='text/javascript' src='http:\\myserver.com\elements.js' pages='*' /> 
    <script type='text/javascript' src='http:\\myserver.com\jquery.js' pages='*' /> 
    <script type='text/javascript' src='http:\\myserver.com\jquery-1.11.3.js' pages='*' />
    <script type='text/javascript' src='http:\\myserver.com\test.js' pages='*' />

With server-based injection, Enterprise Browser commands the engine to inject JavaScript to the DOM asynchronously, which (for example) might cause jquery.js to be loaded before element.js. Therefore, if JavaScript files are interdependent, additional steps might be required to avoid failure due to a dependency issue (see below).

In another example, the tags file below is used to inject the ebapi-modules.js and test.js files into all navigated page. 

    
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://myserver.com/scripts/ebapi-modules.js" pages="*" />

    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://myserver.com/scripts/test.js" pages="*" />

If an attribute contained in the ebapi-modules.js file--for example the EB namespace--is required by test.js, an error might occur if test.js is injected first. To guard against this, it might be useful for test.js to include some logic (like the JavaScript below) so that it waits until its dependent JavaScript (ebapi-modules.js) is loaded.

Sample JavaScript to delay loading: 

    
    (function() {

    // Poll for EB namespace to come into existence
    var checkReady = function(callback) {
        if (window.EB) {
            callback(EB);
        }
        else {
            window.setTimeout(function() { checkReady(callback); }, 100); //check here
        }
    };
    // Start polling...
    checkReady(function(EB) {
      alert(EB.Application.appName); //use EB api here
    });
})();

Examples

Inject a JavaScript file into all pages using absolute path:
<script type='text/javascript' src='file:///storage/emulated/0/Android/data/com.zebra.mdna.enterprisebrowser/mytest.js' pages='*'/>


Inject a CSS file into all pages using absolute path:
<link rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' href='file:///storage/emulated/0/Android/data/com.zebra.mdna.enterprisebrowser/mystyle.css'  pages='*' />


Inject a CSS file into all pages from the root directory (substitution variable):
<link rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' href='file://%PERSISTCONFDIR%/mystyle.css'  pages='*' />


Inject a JavaScript file from a server into all pages:
<script type='text/javascript' src='http://myserver.com/test.js' pages='*'/>


Inject a meta tag to refresh all pages every 30 seconds:
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="30" pages='*' />


Enable the scanner on all pages
<meta HTTP-Equiv="scanner" Content="Enable" pages='*'/>


Inject the JavaScript file enroll.js onto any page that contains a "Change Password" string:
<script type='text/javascript' src='file://%INSTALLDIR%/enroll.js' pagecontent=' Change Password’ pages='*' />


Inject the JavaScript file previous.js on any page that contains a specific HTML element:

<script type='text/javascript' src='file://%INSTALLDIR%/previous.js' pagecontent='<input class="clr-button branded-highlight-bg branded-highlight-item" data-ats-id="Previous-button" name="Previous" onclick="" style="margin-right:5px;" type="button" value="Previous">' pages='*' />


Inject mystyle.css file from the "install" directory if the string "Enter User Name" is found on any page:

<link rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' href='file://%INSTALLDIR%/mystyle.css'  pagecontent='Enter User Name' pages='*' />


Sample tags file

The following is an example of a complete tags file: 

// Sample tags file for DOM injection
// FILENAME: 'mytags.txt'
//
<script type='text/javascript' src='file://%INSTALLDIR%/all.js' pages='*' /> 
<script type='text/javascript' src='file://%INSTALLDIR%/enroll.js' pagecontent='Enter your ID' pages='*' /> 
<script type='text/javascript' src='file://%INSTALLDIR%/login.js' pagecontent='Enter your User Name' pages='*' /> 
<script type='text/javascript' src='file://%INSTALLDIR%/download.js' pagecontent='Select your Choice' pages='*' /> 
<script type='text/javascript' src='file://%INSTALLDIR%/next.js' pagecontent='Next' pages='*' /> 
<script type='text/javascript' src='file://%INSTALLDIR%/previous.js' pagecontent='<input type="hidden" name="sap-system-login-oninputprocessing" value="onProceed">' pages='*' /> 
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="30" pagecontent='Enter your User Name and Password' pages='*' /> 
<link rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' href='file://%INSTALLDIR%/mystyle.css'  pagecontent='Enter your User Name and Password' pages='*' />