Overview
Enterprise Browser is a powerful, industrial browser that provides everything needed to quickly build device apps for barcode scanning, signature capture, payment processing, printing and most other enterprise applications for a long list of supported Zebra devices running Android and Windows Mobile/CE. EB includes a runtime environment inside which a company's application logic can be executed and controlled using HTML5 and CSS3 for presentation and JavaScript to access EB APIs for scanners, cameras, card readers and other device peripherals.
The base EB installation includes all necessary components to allow a Windows development host to easily build device apps and set runtime settings for local or mass-deployment using Zebra StageNow or a mobile device management (MDM) system. If migrating from another platform, Enterprise Browser also can run apps built for PocketBrowser, RhoElements and the RhoMobile Shared Runtime, making it an ideal path for moving apps to a newer UI, device or platform. See the API Compatibility matrix.
New in v1.6
Android Jelly Bean - End of Support
Enterprise Browser 1.6 and higher will no longer support devices running Android Jelly Bean. For Jelly Bean support, please use Enterprise Browser 1.5 or lower.
Zebra Android Device Support
Enterprise Browser 1.6 now supports new and existing devices running Android 5.0 Lollipop and Android 6.0 Marshmallow:
- ET50 with Android Lollipop
- ET55 with Android Lollipop
- MC18 with Android Lollipop
- MC40 with Android Lollipop
- TC51 with Android Marshmallow
- TC75 with Android Marshmallow
- TC8000 with Android Lollipop
This release also adds a range of additional new features for all supported Android devices.
New or Updated APIs (released with EB 1.6)
New Enterprise Keyboard API - provides programmatic access to Zebra's software keyboard and some of its settings (applies only to Android devices with EKB 1.2 and higher).
Updated Barcode API - now includes decodeSound, decodeVolume, decodeFrequency and decodeDuration properties for Android (formerly available only for Windows Mobile/CE).
Updated Scanner API - adds KitKat support for the connectionListenerEvent.
Updated Sensor API - implements a proximitySensorType property to set the value of proximity sensor type or get its current value.
Ring Scanner Support
- RS6000 Ring Scanner - is now supported on TC75x devices running Android Marshmallow.
Enterprise Browser Kiosk Mode
- New Enterprise Browser Lockdown Option - integrates with Zebra Enterprise Home Screen (EHS) to provide an easily configurable lock-down feature for any Enterprise Browser app, preventing access to device settings and other apps installed on the device.
New Tags for Android
The following Enterprise Browser configuration tags are now supported on Android (formerly Windows-only).
<ScanDecodeWav> - allows specification of a .wav or .ogg file to be played when a scanned barcode is successfully decoded.
<DecodeVolume> - controls the volume of the device beeper when a barcode is scanned.
<DecodeFrequency> - controls the frequency of the device beeper when a barcode is successfully decoded.
<DecodeDuration> - controls the duration (in milliseconds) of the device beeper sound when a barcode is scanned.
New and Updated Guides
New Security Guide - explains Enterprise Browser's numerous security features and provides links to their individual guides or guide sections.
Updated DataWedge Usage Guide - adds detailed steps for enabling and disabling DataWedge based on the version installed on the device.
Android Jelly Bean Deprecated
Enterprise Browser 1.6 and higher will no longer support devices running Android Jelly Bean. For Jelly Bean support, please use Enterprise Browser 1.5 or lower versions for Android Jelly Bean device support.
Key Features
- A development toolkit for mobile cross-platform enterprise apps. Supports all enterprise devices: mobile computers, tablets, kiosks, wearables and vehicle-mounted devices. Supports multiple operating systems: Android, Windows Embedded Handheld and Windows Mobile/CE. =
- Build apps using HTML5, CSS and JavaScript. Use web skills to create great-looking applications. Based on open source and standard technologies, not proprietary toolkits. Access to the world's largest developer community=
- Common APIs across all enterprise devices. Single code base; does not require different APIs for different OSes to create a true write-once, run-anywhere apps with a consistent UI. Easily access native device hardware with JavaScript APIs
- Backward-compatible with PocketBrowser and RhoElements. Compatible with legacy PocketBrowser APIs, enabling a clear path forward for legacy apps. EMML (Meta Tag) support extended to Android. Compatible with legacy RhoElements JavaScript APIs, enabling a clear path forward for "RhoElements Shared Runtime" users.
- Unparalleled access to device capabilities. Access all device features, including bar code scanning, signature capture, printing, RFID and more.
- Thin client architecture. Simplifies device deployment and management by enabling instant application updates on devices; ensures version consistency.
- Offers operating system "lock out". Hides access to distractions, such as web-browsing and games; simplifies user interface and eliminates risk of unauthorized changes to device settings. Password-protect settings screen and prevent any app from exiting.
- Full-screen display. Maximizes available display space for a richer, more effective user interface; hides command bar and Start menu.
- Extensive logging capability. Flexibility to easily capture logging information, reducing management and support effort.
Key Benefits
- Reduces application and development costs and eliminates the need to develop, manage and maintain multiple versions of an application to support different types of devices and operating systems; provides highly cost effective support for a mixed-OS environment.
- Protects the business from OS market uncertainty. Devices and platforms can continue to churn without impacting the business. These OS-agnostic applications work on Symbol, Motorola and Zebra Technologies platforms of yesterday (MPA2), today and tomorrow.
- Reduces end-user training costs. Enterprise Browser app development is incredibly intuitive for developers skilled in HTML5, CSS and JavaScript.
- Leverage every feature on every device and attached peripheral. Easily design rich applications that take advantage of all the available features on a device and its attached peripherals, including barcode scanners, RFID tag readers and payment processing devices.
- Create consumer-style apps for business Without OS constraints to impact app design, a graphical user interface can be created that is every bit as engaging, intuitive and interactive as today's consumer applications. Provides complete control of application behavior on different devices. With automatic screen resizing, apps can look, feel and behave identically on all devices, or display new features or expand the presentation of existing features to take advantage of larger screens.
- Faster time to market. A simplified application development approach allows for shorter time to market than ever before.
Supported Devices
Mobile
| Device family | Device | Operating System(s) | Supported WebView(s) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
 |
ES400 | ES400 | Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 | Internet Explorer, Webkit |
 |
ET1 | ET1 (Enterprise Tablet), ET1 WAN | Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) | Android Stock Webkit |
 |
ET5X | ET50, ET55 | Android 5.0 (Lollipop) | Android Stock Webkit |
 |
TC75 | Android 6.0 (Marshmallow) | Android Stock Webkit | |
 |
TC51 | Android 6.0 (Marshmallow) | Android Stock Webkit | |
 |
MC18 | MC18 | Windows CE 7.0 Android 4.4 (KitKat) Android 5.0 (Lollipop) |
Internet Explorer, Webkit, Android Stock Webkit |
 |
MC3090 | MC3000, MC3090 | Windows CE 5.0 Windows Mobile 6.1 |
Internet Explorer |
 |
MC3100 | MC3100R, MC3100S, MC3190G, MC3190R, MC3190S, MC3190Z | Windows CE 6.0 Professional Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 |
Internet Explorer, Webkit |
 |
MC32N0 | MC32N0 | Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) Windows CE 7.0 |
Internet Explorer, Webkit, Android Stock Webkit |
 |
MC40 | Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) Android 4.4 (KitKat) Android 5.0 (Lollipop) |
Android Stock Webkit | |
 |
MC45 | MC45 | Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 | Internet Explorer, Webkit |
 |
MC55 | MC5574, MC5590 | Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 | Internet Explorer, Webkit |
|
MC55A0 | MC55A0 | Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 | Internet Explorer, Webkit |
|
MC55N0 | MC55N0 | Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 | Internet Explorer, Webkit |
 |
MC65 | MC659B | Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 | Internet Explorer, Webkit |
 |
MC67 | MC67 | Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 Android 4.1 Android 4.4 (KitKat) |
Internet Explorer, Webkit, Android Stock Webkit |
 |
MC70 | MC7004, MC7090, MC7094, MC7095 | Windows Mobile 6.1 | Internet Explorer |
 |
MC75 | MC7506, MC7508, MC7596, MC7598 | Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 | Internet Explorer |
 |
MC75a | MC75A0, MC75A6, MC75A8 | Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 | Internet Explorer, Webkit |
 |
MC9000 | MC9090, MC9097, MC9094 | Windows CE 5.0 Windows Mobile 6.1 |
Internet Explorer |
 |
MC9100 | MC9190-G, MC9190Z | Windows CE 6.0 Professional Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 |
Internet Explorer, Webkit |
|
MC9200 | MC92N0 | Windows CE 7.0 Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 Android 4.4 KitKat |
Internet Explorer, Webkit, Android Stock Webkit |
 |
MC9500 | Windows Mobile 6.1 Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 |
Internet Explorer, Webkit | |
 |
Omnii XT15 | XT15 | Windows CE 6.0 Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 |
Internet Explorer, Webkit |
 |
TC55 | TC55 | Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) Android 4.4 (KitKat) |
Android Stock Webkit |
 |
TC70 | Android 4.4 (KitKat) Android 5.0 (Lollipop) |
Android Stock Webkit | |
 |
TC75 | Android 4.4 (KitKat) Android 5.0 (Lollipop) |
Android Stock Webkit | |
 |
TC8000 | Android 4.4 (KitKat) Android 5.0 (Lollipop) |
Android Stock Webkit | |
 |
Workabout Pro 4 | Windows CE 6.0 Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 |
Internet Explorer, Webkit |
Vehicle
| Device family | Device | Operating System(s) | Supported WebView(s) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
 |
VH10 | VH10 | Windows CE 6.0 | Internet Explorer, Webkit |
 |
VC5090 | VC5090 | Windows CE 5.0 | Internet Explorer |
 |
VC6000 | VC6000, VC6096 | Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 | Internet Explorer |
 |
VC70 | VC70 | Windows CE 7.0 | Internet Explorer, Webkit |
Micro-Kiosk
| Device family | Device | Operating System(s) | Supported WebView(s) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
 |
MK3000 | MK3000, MK3090 | Windows CE 5.0 | Internet Explorer |
 |
MK3100 | MK3100, MK3190 | Windows CE 7.0 | Internet Explorer, Webkit |
 |
MK4000 | MK4000, MK4090 | Windows CE 5.0 | Internet Explorer |
Wearable
| Device | Operating System(s) | Supported WebView(s) | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
 |
WT4090 | WT4070, WT4090 | Windows CE 5.0 | Internet Explorer |
 |
WT41N0 | WT41N0 | Windows CE 7.0 | Internet Explorer, Webkit |
 |
WT6000 | Android 5.0 (Lollipop) | Android Stock Webkit |
Ring Scanners
| Device | Operating System(s) | Supported WebView(s) | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
 |
RS6000 | Bluetooth Ring Scanner | Accessory | Supported on WT6000 and TC75 only |
 |
RS4000 | 1D Corded Ring Scanner | Accessory | For WT6000 only |
 |
RS507 | Cordless Ring Imager | Accessory | For devices with KitKat and higher. See support notes (below). |
RS507 Support Notes:
Works with the Enterprise Browser Barcode API on all supported devices running KitKat or higher (relies on the EMDK service, which is standard on those devices; optional on some Jelly Bean devices).
Works with RhoElements 2.x and PocketBrowser 2.x/3.x APIs on all supported devices running KitKat or higher except the TC70-GA1.
Printers
The printers shown below have been tested for compatibility with USB printing from Enterprise Browser. Printing wirelessly from EB apps is supported on many other Zebra printer models. NOTE: Zebra's QL Plus and QLn series printers do not support USB printing.
| Device family | Device models | Operating System(s) | Interface(s) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
 |
MZ | MZ 220, MZ 320 | Android, Windows Mobile/CE | Bluetooth, USB, Wi-Fi |
 |
iMZ | iMZ 220, iMZ 320 | Android, Windows Mobile/CE | Bluetooth, USB, Wi-Fi |
 |
RW | RW 220, RW 420, RW 420 Print Station | Android, Windows Mobile/CE | Bluetooth, USB, Wi-Fi |
 |
P4T | P4T, RP4T Passive RFID Printer | Android, Windows Mobile/CE | Bluetooth, USB, Wi-Fi |
 |
ZD500R | ZD500R RFID Printer | Android, Windows Mobile/CE | Bluetooth, USB, Wi-Fi |